The Other Auxiliaries & Cumamn na mBan

image

Today at 3pm I will be giving a paper to the Women’s History Association of Ireland conference to commemorate the Centenary of the Irishwomen’s republican organisation, Cumann na mBan.

My paper specifically will focus on the British governments attempts to fight against the support which the insurgency in Ireland was getting from Cumann na mBan members, specifically by using Policewen as Lady Police Searchers.

About eamonntgardiner

I am a PhD Student at the National University of Ireland, Galway. I am conducting research into links between wartime traumatic-neurosis and evidence of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder amongst British First World War veterans serving as Auxiliary Policemen in Ireland during the Anglo-Irish War 1919-1921. I have previously conducted research into local Irish Volunteer/Old IRA units in Munster as well as British responses to popular insurgencies in areas they administered. I have previously published a book on the British Counterinsurgency responses to the IV/IRA conflict in Ireland, 1919-1921, entitled 'Dublin Castle and the Anglo-Irish War: Counter Insurgency and Conflict.' I have also published papers on various aspects of that war and also on other insurgencies. I write a regular blog on those and other related matters, which can be read at https://eamonntgardiner.wordpress.com/ My research interests include Feminism and De-Colonialisation/Post-Colonialism, Insurgency, Police and Military Histories, Institutional Histories. Subaltern Studies, International History of the 20th Century, Modern Irish History, Historiography, History of Conflict, Peace Keeping/Enforcement/Protectorates, Spheres of Influence, Hegemonic Theories, Old and New Terrorism.
This entry was posted in Britain, espionage, First World War, Insurgency, spying and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Other Auxiliaries & Cumamn na mBan

  1. Nina Boyd says:

    I hope this paper went well, Eamonn! Best wishes, Nina

  2. Nina Boyd says:

    Hello, Eamonn! Thought you might like to know that Mary Allen will be featured in a BBC4 programme in the near future about 100 years of women policing. Not sure when it will be shown, but I am filming on Thursday!
    Hope all is well with you, best wishes, Nina

    • Hi Nina, that’s fantastic! Well done! Please feel absolutely free to give me a plug if you like! But if there’s anything I cam help you with please just mail me and I’ll do my level best to help you out. Found out some more fascinating stuff in Kew recently!

Leave a Reply

