Beware the Horns, when running with the Bulls

PAMPLONA, SPAIN - JULY 09: A reveller eludes a Valdefresno's ranch fighting bull's horn at Calle Estafeta during the fourth day of the San Fermin Running Of The Bulls festival, on July 9, 2013 in Pamplona, Spain. The annual Fiesta de San Fermin, made famous by the 1926 novel of US writer Ernest Hemmingway 'The Sun Also Rises', involves the running of the bulls through the historic heart of Pamplona, this year for nine days from July 6-14. (Photo by Pablo Blazquez Dominguez/Getty Images)

(Photo by Pablo Blazquez Dominguez/Getty Images)

Eamonn T. Gardiner, Lead Organiser of the Irish History Students Association.

FacebookPage

Sounds fancy right? Well in truth, its a lot of work, but isn’t massively interfering with college or non-college (I’ve resigned myself to not having much of an extra-course life at this stage). But as an (aspiring) academic, I can see the need to have planned one of these for my career prospects!

But I will say this; don’t ever volunteer for something when you’re mad as hell! Bad timing in extremis! When you decide to run with the bulls, you should be aware of the possibility of finding out what those pointy things on their heads are really for!

(c) Katya Radovanova

(c) Katya Radovanova

SO the conference is taking place in February 2016, but myself and the committee have been hard at work since March 2015. I know what you’re going to say, that its not that big a deal. Its only three days. there doesn’t need to be this level of detail involved in matters. But I beg to differ. Perhaps its merely the way I approach these things, with minute planning and redundancy, but I feel more comfortable when I do something, if I know I have redundancy and contingencies built in as standard.

It’s probably driving my colleagues on the committee bonkers though!

(Benevolent) Dictator on the Committee

(Benevolent) Dictator on the Committee

That’s partly the reason why the aul’ blog has taken a nosedive off the edge of the cliff in recent times. I’m writing another one at IHSA 2016, note the subtle plug. Subtle like a brick to the puss. That’s how I’ve started rolling these days. So perhaps taking on the conference in final year of the PhD wasn’t the smartest idea, but see the above point about anger and not doing important things…

It is however all in hand, reams of paperwork notwithstanding! And there are reams! Thankfully we’re managing to keep most of it as e-paper and just word docs we fire over and back across cyberspace. The ‘i’s’ are being dotted and the ‘t’s’ are being crossed and its slowly coming together for us. we’re slowly getting sponsors and we’re definitely gaining momentum; its hard to describe, its kind of like a restless giant, stirring from its slumber. You know you’re going to get critical mass at some point soon, you’re just not entirely sure when! I never thought that a cup of (lets face it, pretty crappy catering) coffee would cost so much. To say that its extortion, is to do Don Falcone a disservice!

You will pay through the nose for inferior caffeine!

You will pay through the nose for inferior caffeine!

I suppose I’ve never been involved in a conference before to this extent. Yes I’ve given a lot of papers, and yes I’ve chaired a few rooms and have been at a few run by friends. But its only when you get stuck into it, when you take full responsibility for the financing and the planning of one, that’s when you realise all the little things which you take for granted, like rooms being opened and WiFi and projectors…SOMEONE has to make sure those things are ready for you. Its like taking the step from being a child to an adult. You know the basics, its just the implementation that’s key.

Fishka

Our Call for Papers goes live today and I will freely admit, its kind of an emotional time. It’s gone through more than a few hours discussion and well over half a dozen drafts and major edits. It has ideas and concepts that are revolutionary for this conference’s history and hopefully they’ll bring us into the twenty-first century! The irony of a history conference looking to the future, to maintain its place in contemporary culture, is not for a second lost on me! But as my train speeds to Galway and as I look across the greying dawn-lit landscape, I am moved by this thought. This, this now, this is history being made. And both I (benevolent dictator) and the committee (banana republic) are part of that change.

And to paraphrase Robert Frost, ‘and that has made all the difference.

About eamonntgardiner

I am a PhD Student at the National University of Ireland, Galway. I am conducting research into links between wartime traumatic-neurosis and evidence of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder amongst British First World War veterans serving as Auxiliary Policemen in Ireland during the Anglo-Irish War 1919-1921. I have previously conducted research into local Irish Volunteer/Old IRA units in Munster as well as British responses to popular insurgencies in areas they administered. I have previously published a book on the British Counterinsurgency responses to the IV/IRA conflict in Ireland, 1919-1921, entitled 'Dublin Castle and the Anglo-Irish War: Counter Insurgency and Conflict.' I have also published papers on various aspects of that war and also on other insurgencies. I write a regular blog on those and other related matters, which can be read at https://eamonntgardiner.wordpress.com/ My research interests include Feminism and De-Colonialisation/Post-Colonialism, Insurgency, Police and Military Histories, Institutional Histories. Subaltern Studies, International History of the 20th Century, Modern Irish History, Historiography, History of Conflict, Peace Keeping/Enforcement/Protectorates, Spheres of Influence, Hegemonic Theories, Old and New Terrorism.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

